My Current Skincare Routine Step 3: Toner (I’m From Rice Toner Review)

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is unnamed-5.jpg

Step 2: I’m From Rice Toner

A nearly-opaque milky white, thick, pretty gentle and well-absorbing toner, this product is a K-beauty rec and favorite, popular on many K-beauty websites and introduced to me by me by Asian YouTube skincare guru/influencer Gothamista through her limited edition Holiday Box Set with Wishtrend.com.

I have used this toner for about a month. I can say that while I’m on the fence about the actual effects of the product, I like the unique sensory experience of using it, which is like putting a fancy thin watery milk on your face. (It also supposedly has 77.8% Rice Extract, which to its credit IS the first ingredient, and does seem to form a protective barrier on your skin like it claims in my experience.)

I noticed that it might seem to be drying out my skin. While the original function of the toner in Western countries is to dry out excess oils from your skin (which in my case seemed to only exacerbate the problem by overly-drying my skin to parched levels and causing my skin to reactively overproduce oil to compensate to the point that my face felt like a fountain of grease), in Korea they often make “hydrating toners” used to penetrate the deeper layers of the skin and moisturize it from within, often through the famous “Seven Skin Method” which involves applying seven layers of hydrating toner and allowing each layer to naturally absorb into the skin, often taking up to 20 minutes per layer to completely dry. This is often achieved by soaking flat, thin cotton pads (like Shiseido’s famous cotton pads) in toner and applying them to the face where they stay until completely dry.

So I was disappointed when this recommended Korean toner by one of my most trusted skincare gurus turned out to not be hydrating, but actually the opposite.

CosDNA Analysis:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is screen-shot-2020-01-08-at-2.27.19-am-2.png

I’m From’s Rice Toner clocks out with all green ratings which means it should generally be pretty safe for sensitive skin.

My Affordability Rating: Kinda Expensive – At an average price of about $25.20, available from a range of $22.40-28.00 online this toner is pretty expensive for the average consumer and certainly will not fit in everyone’s budget, but is not crazy expensive either as far as skincare goes.

Where to get it: Wishtrend, YesStyle, eBay