I Got My First Skincare Fridge! My Experience: Saranghae Blue Moon Beauty Fridge Review

To some people skincare fridges may seem like an unnecessary luxury: a mini refrigerator made specifically to store your skincare? I admit: at first the idea seemed extra to me too.

But as time passed (okay specifically a year), a Black Friday sale came, and my skincare collection grew, I realized in fact it’s really not such a silly idea.

First of all, there are many valid reasons why you would NEED a skincare refrigerator, and not just for the adorable Instagram photos:

  1. Many of the best skincare ingredients such as retinol and vitamin C are chemically unstable and naturally degrade quickly over time and exposure to light and air.

Retinol in particular is often expensive, but also the best skincare ingredient known to womankind (and mankind for that matter)! Retinol is the only clinically-proven anti-aging ingredient to prevent and actually even reverse physical signs of aging (aka wrinkles and fine lines).

Vitamin C is photo-sensitive, which means it loses its efficacy when exposed to light and heat, usually oxidizing or changing color (first yellow, then brown).

Most Vitamin C serums have an average shelf life of 3 months, and people usually recommend you keep them in your dark medicine cabinet or fridge, the best place by far being the fridge; the thing is, most people’s fridges are in their kitchen, not their bathroom or bedroom where most people typically do their skincare routine!

It’s usually a walk to the fridge, which is enough to prevent many people from remembering to go to the fridge where their skincare products are. By the time you remember to use it, you’ve already lost valuable time when your vitamin c serum or products were fresh and usable, and can even end up wasting your whole bottle (which might’ve been very expensive depending on what you bought)!

2. Many “clean” skincare items often don’t have preservatives, such as parabens which are sensitizing and cause irritation for many skin types and can even be toxic when accumulated from the small percentages present from the large number of various personal care and cleaning items we use everyday. With the growing awareness of consumers of the many harmful ingredients in the products they use everyday, and the lack of the efficacy of our FDA to keep us safe from them, the Clean Beauty movement is all the rage nowadays!

This means that many of these often organic “Clean Beauty” items tend to go bad and expire faster without the toxic chemical preservatives. But the health of your skin is important, and worth it! It’s worth the investment of your skin health–which is health–to keep your Clean Beauty skincare items and investments fresh and effective.

I got my 1st skincare fridge on Black Friday for only $29 from Saranghae on lovesaranghae.com, 75% off the normal full retail price of $79!

My skincare fridge did take some time to get to my house in the US from South Korea, about 3 weeks–which is a long time to wait, but consistent with all my other K-beauty purchases shipping time from Korea (you can spend $30+ for fast international EMS shipping, but I ain’t got the money for that).

The blue box my first skincare fridge from Saranghae came in in the mail.
Sitting cute on my bathroom counter.

The Saranghae beauty fridge is exactly 10″ by 7″ by 10″, is very petite and cute, and fit on my bathroom counter AND the little table next to my desk in my bedroom. I know, because I tried putting it in both places.

It actually comes with 2 shelf inserts too, but I forgot to take a picture before I took them out. (Lol.)

With my current skincare routine, including my Vitamin C serum and full-price $85 retinol night cream from Murad. I’ve since added more items. It can fit:

  • My Murad Retinol Youth Renewal Night Cream
  • My Laneige Eye Sleeping Mask
  • My I’m From Rice Toner
  • My Elizavecca Hell Pore Control Hyaluronic Acid Serum
  • My SeoulCeuticals 20% Vitamin C, E + Ferulic Acid Serum
  • My Mario Badescu Facial Spray With Aloe, Cucumber & Green Tea
  • My Innisfree Orchid Eye Cream
  • My The Ordinary 10% Niacinamide + Zinc 1% Serum
  • My Life-Flo Rose Hip Oil
  • My Aura Cacia Tamanu Oil
  • My Aveeno Ultra Calming Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50 Broad Spectrum (W/Mineral Sunscreen)

It fits my whole 10-step skincare routine!

Update:
I’ve had my skincare fridge for 4 months now (posting this on April 2020). My fridge is still going strong!
At first it wasn’t that cold, though still colder than room temperature, but then I accidentally unplugged it and re-plugged it in, and now it’s so much colder! I even get a little condensation on my skincare products.
I’ve even gotten my 2nd skincare fridge from FaceTory!

Love,

The Queen of Skincare Addiction

Leave a comment