How to Use Skincare as Self-Care During COVID-19 Anxiety – Part 2 – Use a Guasha With Good-For-Your-Skin Facial Oils and Serums to De-Stress

So if you read my posts on this blog, and follow me on Instagram (btw shameless plug: @queenskinaddict) and seen my “Skincare Tours” stories in which I walk around the skincare aisles at places like Target, CVS, and TJ Maxx & Marshalls, you probably know that I HAAATE essential oils in skincare. With. A. Passion.

Why? My main peeve with essential oils in skincare is that most “Clean Beauty” brands that pride themselves on not having sensitizing chemical ingredients such as artificial fragrance, parabens and sulfates etc. have NATURAL fragrance in them in the form of highly-sensitizing essential oils (as well as a myriad of natural plant extracts), which are equally or sometimes even MORE sensitizing than artificial fragrance!

That’s not to say that ALL oils are evil in skincare, though; in fact, far from it! However I highly recommend you stay away from essential oils, citrus oils and extracts such as lavender oil, bergamot oil, lemon peel oil, and more as listed in my Cheatsheet: Ingredients to Try to Avoid in Skincare (For Everyone But Esp. If You Have Sensitive Skin).

You also might’ve heard of the trendy skin tool called Gua Sha. I’m no expert, but basically it’s based off a tool used in the Gua Sha technique used to redirect energy flows in the body since ancient times in Traditional Chinese Medicine. While legends say Chinese empresses reportedly used pieces of jade to scrape their faces, and fancy Western brands such as Herbivore from Sephora have recreated these and made their own versions of the facial Gua Sha massage tool also from jade and “healing” crystals such as amethyst and rose quartz ranging anywhere from $18 from Herbivore (I own the amethyst one!) to $28-34 from Mount Lai, there are cheaper methods too.

The main point in the trend of using the Gua Sha tool is to give yourself a lymphatic drain massage to de-puff the skin and your lymphatic nodes so it doesn’t swell up and give the appearance of being “fatter”, and help contour the face. I have yet to use the Gua Sha daily over long-term usage yet, but in the short-term after just one use it DID seem to drain my face of excess puffiness and help make my cheekbones look sharper!

Youtube blogger Penn Smith, a master aesthetician, even suggests using a flat jar lid for those on a tight budget, and demonstrates how to properly do so in a video on her channel (as well as how to use a fancy one).

My COVID-19 Anxiety-Relieving Skincare Tip:

Use the Gua Sha to apply good-for-you skincare facial oils and serums to give yourself a soothing facial massage, probably at the beginning and/or end of each day, to de-puff and de-stress your skin from whenever your face is tired, or your mind or skin need a break from thinking about the ‘Rona.

Product Recommendations:

OILS


My Aromatherapy Rec: Herbivore’s Lapis Oil, named after its ingredient blue tansy oil–the ONLY essential oil I’ve used that didn’t overly irritate my skin and even calmed and soothed it! This can be used as a form of aromatherapy that can calm the senses and the mind from all your COVID-19 woes. (unfortunately $72 for full size, but sometimes you can get smaller versions for cheaper in their sets)

Rosehip oil (which you can get very inexpensively from places like Marshalls or TJ Maxx)

My Recommendation: Life-flo’s Rosehip Oil for just $8.76 for 1 oz on iHerb) or there are fancier versions which I haven’t tried from Mario Badescu at Ulta (right now on sale for $11!).

Squalane oil which is composed of squalene, which is naturally found in the body and thus immediately accepted and able to be used by it, great at restoring lipids to dry skin on the face, hair and body, especially during the winter!

My Rec: Biossance’s 100% Sugarcane Squalane Oil for $32 for 3.4 oz

My Rec: There’s also a more affordable version from Timeless at $10.95 an oz, or from The Ordinary at $7.90 both which I haven’t tried yet

Leave a comment